The Olympics I Could Qualify For…Maybe…

I am not a sporty person.  I wish I was, believe me.  I dream of running, and have for years.  The problem is that when I get out and start running, my body says, “Shannon, WHAT ARE YOU DOING?”  I have a bad back, bad knees, and a bad neck.  And, to be honest, even when I was young and sprightly (that word was once used to describe me, by a newspaper reporter!), I wasn’t the athletic type.  So I will never be involved in an Olympic sport.

However, that doesn’t mean I can’t ever compete in the Olympics…the Lazy Olympics.  Oh yes, this could be the perfect one for me.  (The problem is I have a hard time staying still…and so I’m not really lazy…)

The 2nd annual Lazy Olympics is scheduled to take place in Montenegro – in southeast Europe, which sells itself to tourists on its famously slow pace of life.  The only event at the Lazy Olympics is this:  lie lazily under an oak tree.  Don’t put too much effort into it though.  Just be.  The winner is the person who continues to be lazy for the longest period of time.

To show you just how lazy I CAN be, here’s a pic from my recent vacation with my husband.  It was our first in 9 years.  It was difficult to do nothing all day long, because we’re not used to it, but we managed to do it for a few hours a day at least.

beachdrink

Yep, I think I could be a contender!

One thought on “The Olympics I Could Qualify For…Maybe…

  1. Pingback: The Olympics I Could Qualify For...Maybe...

Leave a Reply

