Nothing Like a Spontaneous Reunion…(for Ketchup With Us)

I’m a social person. I always have been. I love my friends. I love getting together and having fun. But over the last few years I’ve been disappointed about not having close friends in the town where we’ve settled. It’s been difficult, and, if I’m being honest, pretty sad. You see, I didn’t grow up here. I grew up in a town about 45 minutes away, where I had loads of friends and lots of fun times. So to live in a place where I have only my husband and kids to talk to has been tough. I’ve actually been told that I’m “too busy”, and so people just don’t even attempt to get in touch with me because I have a husband, kids, a job, and a bunch of other things going on that take my time. People here seem to be “all or nothing” people, unfortunately. And because I can’t give all of my time to others, they want nothing. It’s made me think something’s wrong with me (and my priorities), which has done a number on my self-esteem.

Thank God for something that happened last week.

Last week, I decided, on a whim really, to go to Toronto, where I attended university. I haven’t been back for a visit for a long time, but I thought I should take advantage of the few days I had free in the week to brave the craziness of the city and see some old friends with whom I spent so much time over a decade ago. I put out a call on Facebook, and four days later 16 of us congregated at a restaurant downtown for a walk down memory lane. I would describe the experience as “amazingly wonderful”. We were all so happy to see each other, and so grateful to reconnect. Most of them still live in the city, but with busy work lives and personal lives, it had been years since some of them had seen each other. I hadn’t seen many of them since graduation (16 years ago). But that didn’t matter. True friendships aren’t based on how many times you see each other in a year. It was an experience that warmed my heart, lifted my spirits, and reconfirmed to me that I am a good person who is worthy of true friendship and happiness. I heard someone say – on a talk show! – last week that we need our friends to remind us to love ourselves. So true. My university friends reminded me to love myself last week. They also reminded me how lucky I’ve been to have such terrific people in my life.

ryersongroup

fiveofus

coreone

four

timmy

merobandy

meholly

Yes, I took a TON of pictures that night! I love these people!!!!!

And I hope that we can reconnect again in the near future for another night of laughs and memories. They’re good for my soul.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Nothing Like a Spontaneous Reunion…(for Ketchup With Us)

  1. I know what you mean about getting in trouble for “being busy.” Whatever, world. I’m so glad you got a chance to see old friends.

    16 friends gathered for a 16 year reunion. Anyone else catch that? Yes, I was paying attention.

    Thanks for linking up with KetchupWithUs. Please come back again on the 1st. 🙂

Leave a Reply

