Four Reasons I Wanted to Do the Ketchup With Us Blog Posts by Number Challenge (for Ketchup With Us)

The ladies who host the blog hop Ketchup With Us – Michele at ODNT and Mel at According to Mags – had an idea for a challenge.  They asked bloggers to write some “listy-type” posts during the month.  They went a step further and decided to write one a day, for the entire month.  I thought I’d try to keep up.  Was it exhausting?  Sure, at times.  But it was also a lot of fun.  And so this final blog post for the blog posts by number challenge, is the…

Four Reasons I Wanted to Do the Ketchup With Us Blog Posts By Number Challenge

1)  I love the Ketchup With Us ladies, Mel and Michele.  Though I don’t know these two ladies – I have never met them – I follow them on Twitter, and I follow their blogs.  They make me smile and laugh daily with their blog posts and tweets.  To be involved in something they created was an honour.

2)  I felt inspired.  I was having writer’s block and needed some inspiration.  I started my blog in January and feel like I burst out of the gate with lots of ideas, but then I slowed down.  I felt like I wasn’t writing enough, and that “You haven’t met your posting goal this week” reminder from WordPress was a little frustrating.  This challenge came at the perfect time.  Instead of wondering what to write about, as soon as I heard about the challenge I began frantically writing lists.  That was a good thing.

3)  I wanted to keep up with writing every single day.  If I didn’t keep up with writing every single day, I would be letting myself down.  After all, I took on this challenge, and I don’t like to fail.  I do love writing, and even though I’ve been working every day for over a month – an unforeseen situation – it’s been nice to do some of what I love every day…even if some of my posts were a little “rushed”.

4)  I thought it would be a good way to expose some things about myself.  How else would you know about my encounter with a knife-wielding maniac in France?  Or about my obsession with good oral hygiene?  Or about my “issues” with birds?

And so I would like to thank Michele and Mel for this challenge, and I hope there will be more in the future.  Thirty posts in a month.  Whew!  I’m tired, but it was so worth it.

Leave a Reply

