Four Scenes in “How to Train Your Dragon 2” That Made Me Cry (for Ketchup With Us)

Have you seen “How to Train Your Dragon 2” yet?  If not, and you like animated kids movies (who doesn’t, really?!), then you should see it soon.  I thoroughly enjoyed it, as did my 7 year old son.  We had a little date the other afternoon to see it.  Perhaps that’s why I was emotional – he and I don’t get to spend a ton of time together anymore, and, quite frankly, he often would rather play Minecraft on his iPad – and why I found myself welling up at various points in the movie.  Whatever the reason, there were…

Four Scenes in “How to Train Your Dragon 2” That Made Me Cry

howtotrain

1)  When Toothless, Hiccup’s dragon, falls under the Alpha dragon’s spell, and ends up killing…Oh, I don’t want to ruin it for you if you haven’t seen it yet, so I won’t tell you who dies. 

2)  When Hiccup and the others shoot flaming arrows to the boat where the body has been laid to rest.  Oh boy, I think I have something in my eye.  Hang on…

3)  When Hiccup talks Toothless out of the trance, showing the loving bond between the boy and his dragonand teaching us that love is powerful.

4)  When Toothless, despite his small stature, takes on the Alpha dragon to protect Hiccup, the other humans, and the other dragons.  Hurray for the little guy, who really can make a difference!

toothless

And of course then there was that “surprise, it’s me!” moment, which was also touching.  You HAVE to go see it!

Oh, and you should also participate in the Ketchup With Us blog hop blog posts by number challenge, going on until the end of the month.  The blog hop is hosted by Mel at According to Mags and Michele at ODNT, and all you have to do is go to their websites to find out all the details.  Have fun!

Leave a Reply

