Four Reasons I Bought a Deep Fryer…but haven’t used it in 2 years (for Ketchup With Us)

Two years ago I had a great idea:  buy a deep fryer to make lots of yummy treats for me and my family.  I was actually in a phase when I thought I wanted to try baking, cooking, and creating culinarily.  (Is “culinarily” a word?  Hmm..)  Not that I’d ever been that kind of person before.  In fact, my university friends know me as the person who could and would only make minute (microwave) rice.  For almost every meal.  Anyway, I had seen something on TV that made me think I could try making “specialty” donuts.  What I needed was a deep fryer.  I had never used one before, but that didn’t stop me.  So, we purchased one and I got to work…for about a week.  And so this blog post by number for Ketchup With Us, courtesy of Michele at ODNT and Mel at According to Mags, is…

Four Reasons I Bought a Deep Fryer

1)  I wanted to make funnel cakes.  Have you ever had one of these bits of heaven?  Oh my.  Though we don’t go very often – in fact, we’ve only been once in over a decade – I look forward to going to Canada’s Wonderland for the funnel cakes. They are just that good.  And I made some tasty ones with my deep fryer.  Covered in ice cream and strawberry sauce…Mmmm…

2)  I wanted to make onion rings.  I love these.  It’s not until someone mentions them that I remember how much I love them.  They were kind of messy and a little more “labour intensive” to make with the deep fryer, but they were soooooo good.

3)  I wanted to make French fries (and poutine).  The French fries were really good, but once I made the gravy and threw on the cheese curds, they were AMAZING.  If you’ve never had poutine, you are missing out on something special for your tastebuds.  I would make this every single day if I could.

4)  I wanted to make donuts.  As I mentioned above, I thought I’d try making specialty donuts.  However, my lack of culinary skills made this impossible.  I made a few donuts, but realized quickly that instead of them being “specialty” they’d be “special”:  misshapen little things that vaguely resembled donuts.  Dream dashed.

So after a week – a tasty one – that was it.  I haven’t used it since.  When I saw the amount of oil I needed to make one thing, it kind of made me feel queasy.  And I’ve always been someone who has eaten relatively healthily, so the likelihood of me eating all kinds of fried food was quite slim.  So that I could stay that way.  Anyone need a deep fryer???

You can take part in the blog posts by number challenge from the Ketchup With Us ladies, too!  All you have to do is go to Michele’s website or Mel’s website, and check out the details.

7 thoughts on “Four Reasons I Bought a Deep Fryer…but haven’t used it in 2 years (for Ketchup With Us)

  1. Hmmm. Poutine, you say? I’ve never heard it. But it sounds aMAzing. Fun post.

    P.S. I would deep fry everything if my butt (or more appropriately, my pants) would let me.

Leave a Reply

