Four Reasons My House is in Shambles (for Ketchup With Us)

I’m usually pretty good at keeping my house clean.  Organized is another issue.  But clean?  Yes.  However, this week is a different story.  And so, for my numbered blog post today, for Ketchup With Us – courtesy of Mel at According to Mags and Michele at ODNT – I am listing the…

Four Reasons My House is in Shambles (this week)

1)  My vacuum is “out of commission”.  It’s actually out of the house.  We took it to be fixed about a month and a half ago, and it’s been at this shop – my hubby described it as “a vacuum graveyard” – since.  I actually thought I would never see it again.  The good news is it’s fixed and ready to be picked up.  However, because it’s been gone for so long, the house isn’t in the shape it should be, though I do have an extra vacuum cleaner that I’ve been using.  (Thank heavens I kept the old one that doesn’t work well, for just such an occasion.  You never know…right?  Call me a packrat, but it paid off..sort of…)  I can’t even imagine the pig pen we’d be living in if I didn’t have it.  Shudder.

2)  I have very busy/active/messy children.  I just can’t seem to keep up with the handprints and finger smudges all over the mirrors and windows, and the toys strewn all over the floor of almost every room.  They are, after all, kids, and kids play, play, play…non-stop…at least in this house!  And to be honest, it’s a daunting task so just thinking about it is overwhelming.

3)  I’m filling in as the morning show host at the radio station.  I have to be at the station at 5:30am (which is INSANE for a non-morning person), work 6 hours, pick up my 3 year old from the babysitter’s, and then entertain her all afternoon until my 7 year old and my husband come home.  After that, my awesome husband is all up for playing with the kids and keeping them occupied, but by that time I’m just too tired to start dusting or scrubbing floors.

4)  I have no motivation to clean.  Some days I am full of energy and want to clean, clean, clean.  I know, that’s weird.  But I am not feeling that this week.  I see the dirty windows that are in desperate need of attention.  I see all of the empty cardboard boxes in my bedroom that housed my books and need to be broken down to be recycled.  But they’ll have to wait, until I’m fully committed.  Or until someone calls, texts, or emails to tell me they’re dropping by…and then I’ll be motivated to clean…frantically…

Why not write your own list and share it with others, via Ketchup With Us?  Just go to Mel’s website or Michele’s website to link your post to the blog hop!  Happy writing!

 

 

One thought on “Four Reasons My House is in Shambles (for Ketchup With Us)

  1. Pingback: Eight Facts I’ve Disclosed About Myself This Month (for Ketchup With Us) | Radio Chick's Reflections

Leave a Reply

