Four Possible Sources for that Smell (for Ketchup With Us)

My vehicle has had a particular smell for a little while.  I’m not quite sure how to describe it, other than to say it kind of smells like wet dog.  The problem with that is we don’t have a dog.  So, what could cause the vehicle to smell like wet dog?  Great question.  It’s one I’ve been asking myself, my hubby, and my kids for as long as I’ve smelled it.  So, for today’s numbered post for Ketchup With Us – and the lovely and talented Mel at According to Mags and Michele at ODNT – I’ve come up with…

Four Possible Sources for that Smell

1)  Spilled food and drink.  Though I’ve gone at the interior with cleaner a number of times in the most recent past, I can’t get in between the tracks that move the back seats backward and forward.  No matter how hard I try.  How hard I dig.  How many times I put the end of the vacuum cleaner in there.  I have a bad feeling there are rotting pieces of bread in there…or goldfish…But do goldfish ever rot??  Maybe those things are good for years.  Anyway, spilled milk could very possibly have dried in there as well, causing the smell.

2)  Mud, dirt, and melted snow.  Though I love spring because it means the snow will finally melt and we can put away our boots, winter coats, hats, mittens, scarves, and other winter gear, it’s also messy.  We get mud and dirt all over our boots and shoes, and that means we get it all over the inside of our vehicle too.  That could be stinky, couldn’t it?

3)  Wet and dirty diapers.  No, I don’t have any of those in the car – gross! – but I’m wondering if it’s possible that having changed a few of them in there and leaving them until we could find a garbage can the smell has somehow “seeped into” parts of the floor.  Zoey’s had some pretty putrid-smelling diapers.  Maybe the only thing that can get that out is a good shampooing of the entire inside??

4)  A deceased and decaying animal.  Kidding!  There’s no way this could happen…I hope…Oh Lord…

I can only hope I can get to the bottom of it before too long.  I think I might have to cave and have it professionally cleaned, by someone who has all the right tools, gadgets, and thing-a-ma-doos to get the job done right.  And remove whatever is causing that smell.

If you’d like to get in on the challenge, all you have to do is write a post with a number in the title.  Head over to Mel and Michele’s websites for the details.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

