Four Things I Had Time to Do Before I Had Kids (for Ketchup With Us)

It’s day 7 of the Ketchup With Us blog challenge to write a numbered post for each day of June.  I have Michele at ODNT and Mel at According to Mags to thank for this challenge!  For this one, I thought I’d try to remember some of the things I used to do with my time before I had children.  I love them with all of my heart, and I’m so grateful for them and fortunate to have them in my life, but they are time-suckers!  So…here are…

Four Things I Had Time to Do Before I Had Kids

1)  Sleep.  Okay, I do get some sleep, but nothing compared to what I used to get, and what I NEED and want.  Besides, I am pretty grouchy without enough sleep, so I really, really need to start getting more…for the sake of everyone around me!

sleeping

2)  Get sick.  The flu?  A migraine?  Sore back?  Too bad.  Moms and dads don’t have time for that!  We need to either hold it in – whatever “it” may be in the case – or suck it up.  Either way, it’s gross.

sick

3)  Take a trip to the bathroom uninterrupted.  I haven’t been alone in a bathroom for several years now.  And when I think I can sneak up to the shower – like today – while my daughter is playing in the playroom, I get a guest within a few minutes.  “Hi…hi…hi…hi…” is the “game” we played today as she opened the shower door continuously.

shower

4)  Relax.  I yearn to sit in front of the television and watch hours and hours of renovation shows on TLC.  Or read a book…other than one with rhymes, counting, and cute little animals.

reading

I wouldn’t change having kids for anything in the world, but I am looking forward to having the time to do the things above, when it comes.

If you’d like to participate in the numbered post challenge for this month as well, you can check out the details on Mel or Michele’s websites:  According to Mags and ODNT.

 

2 thoughts on “Four Things I Had Time to Do Before I Had Kids (for Ketchup With Us)

  1. Pingback: Eight Facts I’ve Disclosed About Myself This Month (for Ketchup With Us) | Radio Chick's Reflections

Leave a Reply

