Six Books I Loved Reading to My Child (for Ketchup With Us)

For the month of June, Mel at According to Mags and Michele at ODNT, the two hosts of the blog hop Ketchup With Us, want bloggers to write a numbered post (or more than one – Mel and Michele are writing a numbered post each day of the month). Then link it to Ketchup With Us.

I’m taking the challenge! And I’m on day 3.  You can read my post from yesterday, Five Feats Completed – Been There, Done That, here.  You can read my post from June 1st, Five Fantastic Flicks from the 1980s – 1980s Movie Magic, here.  

I don’t remember reading “children’s books” when I was a child.  My mom always read to me, but from books like the Nancy Drew mysteries, the Hardy Boys, and the Bobbsey Twins.  It wasn’t until I was in school and saw all the books for kids that I realized there was a whole section of literature I had missed.  And so when I had my son Zander, I think I went a little crazy with buying books for him.  There were so many really fun books to read, and I definitely had my favourites to read with him.  (I do have a little girl as well, who is 3, but she is not yet a fan of allowing me to turn pages!)  This post is a list of my six favourite books to read to my son Zander he was younger.

Six Favourite Children’s Books

1)  Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.  Poor Alexander can’t catch a break in this one.  He drops his sweater in the sink as the day begins, his teacher doesn’t like his picture of the invisible castle, he finds out he has a cavity at the dentist office after school, the shoe store is sold out of his choice for sneakers, and dinner is something he hates.  It’s a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day for Alexander.  And it’s very amusing for us readers.

alexander

2)  Love You Forever.  This is a tear-jerker.  It starts with a baby boy’s mom telling him how much she loves him  – “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living my baby you’ll be” – and moves forward as the baby becomes a boy, a teen, an adult, and then a father.  The whole time the mom holds her boy and sings that she’ll love him forever.  When she becomes too old and frail to do that, her son holds her and sings the song to her…and then goes home and does the same with his new baby daughter.  I’m crying right now as I think about it and write this.  Such a touching story.

loveyouforever

3) and 4)  Snuggle Puppy and Hey! Wake Up!  I love Sandra Boynton’s books.  They are so cute.  These are my two favourites, but she has so many more wonderful stories.  In Snuggle Puppy, the puppy parent tells the  little one how loved he/she is.  “OOO, Snuggle Puppy of mine! Everything about you is especially fine. I love what you are. I love what you do. Fuzzy little Snuggle Puppy, I love you.”   And you can’t help but sing it as you read it to your loved little one.  In Hey! Wake Up!, a group of adorably-illustrated animals are waking up to start their day and play.  Again, you can’t help but sing the words to this one, especially “Shout out loud, ‘Good Morning, Sun! Happy Morning, Everyone!'”  No one could wake up unhappy if he/she reads this book.

snuggle

5)  CarsZander memorized most of this book, and would say things like, “You’re in a heap of trouble” (which is what Sheriff says when he finally catches Lightning McQueen after he mistakenly ruins the entire road that runs through the town of Radiator Springs – yes, I’ve read the book and seen the movie MULTIPLE times!).  The fact that he had memorized most of it is probably why I loved reading it with him so much.  We took turns reading it, and that was a fun experience.

cars

6)  The Curious George Treasury.  There are so many Curious George stories in this collection (we have a second collection as well, and it was read just as much).  They are a perfect length to read before bed, and the situations that George gets into on a regular basis are always amusing.  The best part is that things work out well in the end of each story, and everyone appreciates George, despite his curiosity getting him into trouble in the first place.

curiousgeorge

Honourable mentions:  Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs and Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken.  

If you have little ones in your family, maybe they’ll adore these books as much as my son and I adore them.   Oh, and please share your favourites with me!  I would love to add to my bookshelf…and maybe your recommendations will become my 3 year old daughter’s favourites.  You can also join in on the Ketchup With Us blog hop.  You can get to it by going to Mel or Michele’s websites.

 

4 thoughts on “Six Books I Loved Reading to My Child (for Ketchup With Us)

  1. Sandra Boynton was a big name in our house, too. Although we were partial to other titles like “The Going to Bed Book” and “But Not The Hippopotamus.” Classics.

    And I can’t hear the title “I Love You Forever” without thinking of Joey Tribbiani. Know the episode?

  2. Pingback: CKNX AM 920 | I'm Taking This Challenge! Wish Me Luck!

  3. Pingback: Four Freaky and Frightening French Experiences (for Ketchup With Us) | Radio Chick's Reflections

Leave a Reply

