Five Feats Completed – Been There, Done That (for Ketchup With Us)

For the month of June, Michele at ODNT and Mel at According to Mags, the two hosts of the blog hop Ketchup With Us, have a cool idea: Write a numbered post (or more than one – Mel and Michele are writing a numbered post each day of the month). Then link it to Ketchup With Us.

I’m taking this challenge! You can read my post from yesterday, Five Fantastic Flicks from the 1980s – 1980s Movie Magic, here.

Several months ago I wrote a post called Never Done THAT. It was about ten things I have never done. You can read it here. For this latest post, I’ve decided to write about five things I HAVE done that I think are out of the ordinary. Here goes…

Five Things I Have Done:

5) Taken a gondola ride through the canals of Venice, Italy. I went backpacking in the spring/summer of 1999 with friends, and one of the places we went was Venice, Italy. Though we were told it would be pricey, and one of my friends thought we should just skip it, how can you not ride in a gondola in Venice? That would be ridiculous! It was incredibly cool.

gondola

4) Eaten haggis in Scotland. I guess I’ve always been “weird” when it comes to food. I became a vegetarian when I was 11 years old (but started eating meat again when I was pregnant with my now 7 year old), and that was because a teacher told me something disgusting about pork one day in class. That was it. And so when a friend and I went to Scotland and there was this whole “ceremony of the haggis” event, my friend expected me to turn up my nose and not indulge. It is, after all, made of sheep liver, heart, and lungs and served inside a sheep stomach. Doesn’t sound too appetizing, right? However, I felt like I couldn’t be rude and refuse the taste. It was actually not too bad. Tasted like oatmeal, mostly.

haggisceremony

3) Played hockey with former NHL star and Hockey Hall of Famer Scott Stevens. When I first started working at Global Television in Toronto, there was a kids’ program that was produced there, called “Kids Beat”. Those of us who were hired as EAs, or editorial assistants, were given the opportunity to do stories for the show. I pitched doing a story at an event in the area of my hometown, and featuring well-known Canadian athletes. It was approved, and I was off to do a story. The athletes were so accommodating and open to doing anything for me. So when I asked former hockey player Scott Stevens if I could bodycheck him and score on his brother, he was fine with it. It made for a fun day and a great piece for “Kids Beat”. Unfortunately the show was ending, and so that was my only story on it. 😦

scottstevensalone

2) Sang back-up for my friends’ band when they opened for Canadian rockers Trooper. My friends used to have their own rock band. When Trooper (“We’re Here for a Good Time, Not a Long Time”) was booked to play a concert in our hometown, my friends’ band was asked to open for them. They wanted some “doo wap girls” to sing along with them, and so, because they knew I had sung in a play in high school, they asked me to be one of those “doo wap girls”. I think we sang the hell out of “Mustang Sally” and “Brim Full of Asha”. Just sayin’.

singing

1) Self-published a children’s book. I know I’ve written about this before, but the great Barbara Walters said it best: “I believe in promotion. I think if you’re going to do something, you should tell people about it.” The book is called The Duck Who Lost Her Quack and it deals with bullying, exclusion, being yourself, jealousy, and making the decision to be happy. It’s a sweet little book, and thanks to technology I was able to just do it, and easily.

gemmabook

Are there things you’ve done in your life that you would consider out of the ordinary? If yes, what are they? If not, do you have a bucket list? Please share with me, and, if you’re so inclined, on the blog hop. You can get to it by going to Michele or Mel’s websites.

 

7 thoughts on “Five Feats Completed – Been There, Done That (for Ketchup With Us)

  1. Is there any kind of list that isn’t a “before I die” list? (Not really planning on anything after…)

    I’ve managed to have a lot of great experiences, both as a spectator and a participant. but still so much to do…

  2. Pingback: Six Books I Loved Reading to My Child (for Ketchup With Us) | Radio Chick's Reflections

  3. I’ve only matched on you on number one, dammit! Impressive.

    (That I haven’t done #1 is a crime. I’ve already actually written the book. Entirely. Years ago. But I need an illustrator. And someone cracking the damned whip!)

  4. Pingback: CKNX AM 920 | I'm Taking This Challenge! Wish Me Luck!

  5. Pingback: Four Freaky and Frightening French Experiences (for Ketchup With Us) | Radio Chick's Reflections

Leave a Reply

