Five Fantastic Flicks from the 1980s – 1980s Movie Magic (for Ketchup With Us)

It’s time for Ketchup With Us, hosted by the talented and lovely Michele at ODNT and Mel at According to Mags.  (These two ladies are the ones who inspired me to start this blog.  They ROCK!)  You can participate in this blog hop in two ways:  1)  Set a timer and write about anything for 10 minutes, or 2)  Link up an old post.  You could even do both if you’re so inclined.

And, for the month of June, Michele and Mel have a cool idea:  Write a numbered post (or more than one – Mel and Michele are writing a numbered post each day of the month).  Then link it to Ketchup With Us.

I’ve decided to take this challenge, and for my first post, I wanted to write about something from one of my favourite decades:  the 1980s.  More specifically, I wanted to list some of my favourite movies of that decade.  Since I am going to try to write as much as I can this month, I’m only listing 5 of my favourites for this post.  I might need to revisit this topic later in the month and add more.  🙂

My 5 Favourite Movies From the 1980s:

1)  “Say Anything“.  There are a number of reasons I love this movie.  (Oh, a list within a list!!  Yay!!)  John Cusack is reason #1.  He’s so adorable as the main character, Lloyd Dobler.  What girl would not want him to be head-over-heels in love with her?  And romantic?  This guy is that.  That’s reason #2.  It gave all us girls hope that we could have a man who would do anything to be with us, including standing outside our bedroom window, holding a boombox above his head, blasting Peter Gabriel’s “In Your Eyes”.

johncusacksayanything

That song is reason #3.  “In your eyes, the light the heat, in your eyes, I am complete…”  Swoon.
(Side note:  I tried to convince my husband to watch this movie a few years ago, but he declined.  How did I end up marrying this guy????!!)

2) and 3)  “Pretty in Pink” and “Sixteen Candles“.  I’ve put these movies together because they have some things in common.  Most obvious, they star Molly Ringwald as a young woman who is not popular or rich, but quite ordinary.  And even though she is ordinary, she ends up falling in love with the cute, popular boy who is anything but ordinary…and she gets him in the end.  Again, it gave us ordinary girls hope that it could happen to us too.  And of course there were the funny things that we hopefully couldn’t relate to, like a significant birthday being forgotten, a sister being completely out of it (stoned) during her wedding, and dealing with a nerd who sells the chance to see our underwear to other nerds.

sixteen candles

4)  “Parenthood“.  When I’ve told people this is quite possibly my favourite movie, they almost always look at me quizzically.  But think of it:  the cast of Steve Martin, Dianne Wiest, Rick Moranis, and Mary Steenburgen is impressive, and you can see a young Keanu Reeves and Joaquin (at the time his name was Leaf) Phoenix.  There are cute kids, too, who do silly things in the movie.  And I will never, ever forget the diarrhea song as long as I live:  “When you’re slidin’ into first and you’re feelin’ something burst, diarrhea…When you’re slidin’ into home and your shorts are full of foam, diarrhea!”  That’s still funny to me, and I’m almost 40.

parenthood

5)  “Dead Poets Society“.  I’m embarrassed to even mention that the first time I saw this movie, I didn’t actually see it.  I was with a group of friends, and we decided, after only 10 minutes, that we didn’t want to stay.  We were more interested in being at the pizza place across the street where we could watch the “hot guys” drive up and down the street.   How young and stupid was I?  It wasn’t until several years later that I decided to take the time to watch this movie.  And what a gem.  It’s inspiring in so many ways, for so many reasons – and more so for me now that I am an English teacher – and it makes me cry every single time I watch it.  That’s how I know it’s one of my favourites.

deadpoets

Do you agree with my picks for flicks, or do you think I’m crazy for choosing these movies?  Let me know.  Oh, and you should write your own list for Ketchup With Us this month.  Just visit Mel or Michele’s websites and link up there so you can share!

 

15 thoughts on “Five Fantastic Flicks from the 1980s – 1980s Movie Magic (for Ketchup With Us)

  1. All amazing choices! I personally would add Breakfast Club, and my two all-time favorites, Stealing Home and She’s Having a Baby. Really, the options are pretty vast… 🙂

  2. Good picks.

    “Some Kind of Wonderful” is great and I do listen to the soundtrack on LP at home.

    I have many movies from the 80’s that I like (it was my era.), One of my favorites just turned 25 the other day-“Field of Dreams”.

    • That is another great movie, Patrick!! Love it.

      I wonder if I could get the “Some Kind of Wonderful” songs somewhere!!??!

      I remember loving “The Goonies” and “Back to the Future”! You?

  3. Pingback: Been There, Done That (for Ketchup With Us) | Radio Chick's Reflections

  4. Most are on Spotify. Amazon has the CD. But I have it on LP-LOL.

    Wasn’t really a fan of “The Goonies” but I liked “Back to the Future”, my 16-year-old son saw it on TV and is a huge fan of it.

  5. Great list, lady. I’d have to add Breakast Club and possibly a few others like St. Elmo’s Fire, Valley Girl, Some Kind of Wonderful, Better Off Dead and, well, maybe even Footloose. 🙂

    Thanks for playing. Mel and I will be doing Blog Posts by Number entries for the whole month of June. Any time you do one this month, please let us know! 🙂

    • I haven’t seen “Valley Girl” or “Better Off Dead”. I haven’t heard of them. I must do some research! 😉
      I hadn’t actually seen “St. Elmo’s Fire” until a few years ago, which is crazy. I always loved Rob Lowe and all the other Brat Packers.

      I am going to try to write a post a day as well. You have inspired me. I haven’t been writing as much as I’ve wanted to lately, and so this is AWESOME. I’m looking forward to it. And I love reading your posts and Mel’s posts. 🙂 I’ve just been posting mine on Twitter. Is that okay?

  6. Pingback: Six Books I Loved Reading to My Child (for Ketchup With Us) | Radio Chick's Reflections

  7. Pingback: CKNX AM 920 | I'm Taking This Challenge! Wish Me Luck!

  8. Pingback: Four Freaky and Frightening French Experiences (for Ketchup With Us) | Radio Chick's Reflections

Leave a Reply

