Mourning the Loss of My Yoga Pants

It’s a sad day today. There’s a tiny little hole in my beloved yoga pants. It won’t be long now until they’re done forever. These wonderful pants have seen me through thick and thin, literally, and have been with me through many days of the last few years. In fact, doing the math right now, I think I have worn them several times a week, for an average of 7 months a year, for about 3 years now, which would mean I’ve worn them about 200 times. Not bad for a pair of yoga pants on sale at a closing “big box” store that I bought on a whim. I can’t exactly remember when I bought them, but I think it was when I was pregnant with my daughter, Zoey, as I was trying to find a winter coat that would be big enough for me when pregnant but not too big that I would be swimming in it the next winter.

You know when you find an item that you really love wearing? An item you feel comfortable in? These yoga pants were that item for me.

yogapants1

They’ve been my “go to” pants since I got them. On the days that I had to quickly throw on something to drive Zander to school in, I picked them up. On the days that I’ve felt bloated or like I’ve put on a few pounds, I’ve put them on, like the perfect pair of “fat jeans” (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, consider yourself lucky). Heck, any day was a good day to wear my yoga pants and feel comfy. Jeans are not the same, jogging pants just look sloppy, and wearing dress pants to spend the day on the floor playing with my 3 year old or jumping in puddles with her seems ridiculous. Maybe they’re a sign of me “letting myself go”, but they’re just so darn practical. And I’m almost ashamed to admit that these yoga pants have never actually been used for yoga. I’ve never done yoga. As a matter of fact, when I’ve tried to be active recently, it just hasn’t worked out well. You can read about what happened here

I’ve often imagined people in town thinking, as they’ve seen me grocery shopping in my pants, “Gosh, why does she have to wear those everywhere?” I’m sure those people are not thinking that, because they’ve got many other things to think about that are far more interesting and important than me and my pants, but I have felt kind of bad about ALWAYS wearing them. So bad that one day a few weeks ago I felt the need to say to another mom at drop off in the morning, “I wash these pants every other day because I wear them about every other day.” I don’t even know what we were talking about that prompted me to mention that, though I think it was something about the kids being picky about what they will wear and what they will not wear.  And it’s true. I am a clean freak, and that includes my laundry.

That brings us to this day of mourning for my yoga pants, the hole, no doubt, the result of me wearing and washing them so frequently. Dang. I love them so much, I am actually considering buying a patch for them, if they even make them anymore (!), and sewing the patch on the knee where you can see just the slightest bit of alabaster skin.

yogapants2

I’m sure that would attract even more attention than my well-worn yoga pants attract right now, and I’m not really a “look at me and what I’m wearing” kind of person. So perhaps I should let my yoga pants go and not fight it.

Please excuse me while I spend a little more time with them…

3 thoughts on “Mourning the Loss of My Yoga Pants

  1. Oh, I know the feeling. There are a few things in my closet that SO should be laid to rest but I just can’t bear to part with them. I have a pair of yoga pants as well that I love. And they’ve lost all elasticity. (Might be WHY I love them). And a super easy dress that works in summer AND winter, it isn’t too short and you can crumple it into a ball and it falls right back down, completely wrinkle-free. I call it my housecoat. There’s a hole under the arm. I should never wear it in public. And yet it makes it into the rotation at least once a week. My friends know that (when they see me in it) it’s because I needed to get dressed in exactly 2.5 minutes that morning.

    I promise to observe a moment of silence for your pants later today. God speed.

    Thanks for linking up with Ketchup With Us. Come see us again on the 1st. Also known as Today!

Leave a Reply

