Easter…Later? (for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop)

Writing Prompt:  Easter recap!  And a blog post inspired by the word : late.  (I’m going to do a combination here.)

The common cold has been making its way through our house…and it’s doing a second lap I think.  First it was my son who came down with the nastiest and craziest sounding cough I’ve ever heard (it’s now a combination of a sneeze and a cough, which he refers to as a “snough”, funny kid).  Then my daughter was fevered and had a runny nose.  Next it was my turn.  And it knocked me on my butt last weekend.  Unfortunately last weekend was also Easter weekend.  Normally we go to my parents’ house, where my brother and his family are as well, and it gives the kids (my brother has 4 and I have 2) a chance to see each other and play together, which isn’t a regular occurrence due to distance and busy lives.  However, I decided I would have to stay home.  I didn’t want to give anything to my brother’s family or to my parents, and, to be honest, I felt horrible.  I didn’t want to be up and about, running after kids doing an Easter egg hunt.  And when it was time for Zoey to get ready to go with Daddy and Zander,  she decided she wanted to stay home too.  She was still fighting her cold.  So she and I didn’t actually have much Easter fun, other than the little Easter egg hunt we did with Zander and Daddy on the morning of Easter Sunday.

zoeyzaneasteregghunt

easteregg

The rest of the day was spent in bed, first fighting the afternoon nap, as usual, and then finally giving in.  Even though I felt bad physically, I felt worse emotionally, thinking that this sweet 3 year old didn’t get the chance to have any fun.  Sure, she was incredibly excited when her brother and her daddy came home, bearing gifts…and chocolate.

easter2

easterexcited

But she didn’t get to have the family fun.  And so, I think we’re going to have to have a late Easter celebration with my parents in the next few weeks, when we all finally feel like ourselves again.  Hopefully Mother Nature will bless us with some warm, more spring-like weather, and we can enjoy it with family…and chocolate.

Leave a Reply

