Things Only a Child Could Teach

My hubby and I were blessed with a beautiful baby boy in December of 2006.  We were so excited to become parents, and were so looking forward to getting to know our little man.

picture3 picturezanbaby

Over the years we’ve both learned a lot about our son, ourselves, and children in general because of him.  We’ve since had another child, but here are some things I’ve learned from our oldest child.

1) I’m okay with boogers and poop. When my son was very small and had a cold, I would go in there (into his nose I mean), and pick the problem out. No biggie. And when he projectile-pooped when he was only a few weeks old, and it landed on me, I didn’t freak out. (I probably should mention right now that I am a germaphobe, so I find the fact that I can handle boogers and poop incredible. Yay for me!) However, I cannot deal with barf. My husband is the barf-cleaner-upper in the house, and I’m so thankful for that. I have only been able to clean it up a few times, and it’s pretty difficult for me. Give me anything else…Vomit is my kryptonite.

2) Kids are hilarious. For one of my son’s birthdays we had a cake made of SpiderMan and Venom. It had lots of coloured icing, mostly black and blue. The morning after he ate some of the cake, he went to the bathroom, and then called my husband to the room. My hubby was worried about what he saw: black and blue in the toilet. What could that mean? So my husband asked my son, “Did that come from the cake?” My son’s answer was, “No, it came from my bum!”

spidermancake

3) The words kids make up make far more sense than the words currently in our vocabulary. Have you ever thought of the word “except”? My son used to say “butcept” instead. “I like every colour butcept black” makes sense, right? It’s clear that he likes every colour but black. Why is “butcept” not in the dictionary? Clearly an oversight. As is “rainbrella”. “Umbrella” sounds okay, but does it make any more sense than “rainbrella”? Absolutely not. “Rainbrella”, too, is a better word because it’s directly connected to its use.

4) Bedtime is like torture to kids…and parents. My son was not a good sleeper when he was younger, and trying to get him to fall asleep was challenging (and trying to get him to stay asleep was even harder). My husband and I would try everything, and ended up finally lying on the floor beside his little toddler bed until he fell asleep. Now, years later, he is a much better sleeper but he still does not want to go to bed. AND he’ll try anything to stall: “I’m soooo hungry…I can’t sleep if I’m starving”; “I’ve got to poop”; “I need more milk”; “I can’t fall asleep”; “There’s a scary shadow over there”; “I need someone to sleep with me”, etc. It gets tiring for us parents, but not for the kids unfortunately! And really, I think the kids think my husband and I are far too exciting to leave at bedtime. Who wants to sleep and miss all the cool stuff we do at night, like talk about work, finish the laundry, empty the dishwasher…?!

5) Sleep deprivation is ROUGH. It makes you “bone tired” (that’s how my husband describes his state of being daily!) and emotional (is it just me who sobs when Princess Anna says, “Okay, bye” at the end of the song “Do You Wanna Build a Snowman”?), and it causes you to make dumb decisions. I remember when my son was only 5 months old and an across-the-street neighbour was having a party in his garage…at 5am. His garage faced our bedroom and it was wide open. I decided it would be a good idea to get dressed, walk across the street, and ask the neighbour and his friends to either shut the garage door or quiet down. I was desperate for some sleep. Not the best idea. The neighbour and his friends, who’d just gotten back from the bar, were not at all receptive to my suggestions. At that point I thought about how stupid it was to walk over there by myself, but being sleep deprived I didn’t think about the dangers of approaching a stranger (I’d never spoken to the neighbour and had no idea what he even looked like) and his intoxicated friends, in a group of about 10. I’m 5’2 and about 110 pounds.  It could have been ugly.

6) The love you have for your child is limitless and overwhelming. Every day I tell my kids, “I love you more than you’ll ever know,” and I mean it…until they have their own kids. Then I think they’ll know the love a parent has for his/her child. I’m fiercely protective of them, constantly worry about them, and can’t imagine my life without them. They are everything to me, and I am so grateful to have such amazingly wonderful little beings call me “Mom”.  I get a little weepy when I think about how much I love them…and so I’ll stop here…

zoeyzanWE  zanheartzoeyzanYOU

These are just a few of the things I’ve learned from my oldest child.  And I continue to learn from him every day.  What kinds of things have you learned from your child/children?

 

11 thoughts on “Things Only a Child Could Teach

  1. I also had my first son in 2006 and can relate to everything you wrote. I’ve also learned a lot about potty humor. And the feeding habits of animals (because that’s what my boys are into). I can name every piece of heavy construction equipment. I can tell you what a fox says. And I know all of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and their associated weapons. I’ve also learned how dependent I am on coffee and wine since becoming a mom. Thanks for sharing!

    • Oh yes…coffee is a must. I am on my 3rd right now! How about superheroes? Not that mind (!), but I have watched every superhero movie. I could have a great discussion about each of the Avengers! Thank you for commenting!

  2. Learned so many things from my two as they enter adulthood. Went from potty humor to questioning to beliefs and now really learning problem solving skills as one is going off to college this year and the other one next year. Learning to ask the right questions to people who have heard all the questions.

  3. I love these. I can relate as well. I can do poop, but not when I’m pregnant. I learned that as soon as the second stick turned blue. Sigh. It was a LOOOOOOOOOOONG 9 months with a pooping toddler.

    Thanks for coming to Ketchup With Us!

    • Ha! I bet it was a long 9 months! Poop can be tricky. I remember the “rooster tails” that Zander used to get as a baby….and those were tough to handle. 🙂

  4. Hey! Look at you! You’ve already got a head start on the Blog Posts by Numbers Game Mel and I are hosting in June. Sooo cute! Thanks for playing Ketchup. Please come back and see us again on the 1st. Which is conveniently … today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

