I’ve Published a Children’s Book!!

One of my New Year’s Resolutions this year was to follow my bliss. Initially I meant to start singing again, and to eventually record a CD this year, just for me to say I’ve done it (followed my bliss) and for something for my kids to have. I thought it would be fun. I have started taking vocal lessons again, after 15 years, and so I am still going to do it.

However, I have also just done something I’ve wanted to do for a while: I (self) published a book. It’s a children’s book called The Duck Who Lost Her Quack.

Okay, time for a bit of “backstory”…When I was much younger (in elementary school), I wrote a short mystery story (I have no idea where it is now, sadly), and a lot of poems. My friend Keri and I even wrote (and performed!) a rap for our grade 8 graduation. (It played over and over again as the family members of graduates came in the school doors and made their way into the gymnasium.) In high school I wrote for the school newspaper, and my friend Sarah and I wrote a little skit for a Christmas assembly one year as well. I went to school for journalism. I know, you get it! I enjoyed writing! Anyway, it’s been quite some time since I’ve done any writing, and I picked it up again when I started working at a radio station. It started as a job requirement to write blogs, and it turned into something else. At the beginning of the year I started this blog. In addition to this blog, I decided to write a children’s book. Again, it was so that I could follow my bliss, and so that I could have something to show my kids. They love books and reading, and so it would be perfect. Luckily an idea popped into my head immediately, and I wrote it quite quickly. I put a call out on Facebook for an illustrator to work for free (!), and lo and behold a former schoolmate of mine from university answered that call. She recently went to OCAD, and is a talented artist. AND YESTERDAY I PUBLISHED IT! The great thing about technological advancements is that it was relatively easy to publish my own book. I just used a simple program, and now it’s there, for anyone to buy. Here’s the thing: A number of family and friends have purchased a copy, which is unbelievable and fantastic! They’re doing it to support me, and because it’s kind of cool to say you know the author of a book, right?! Anyway, it’s on blurb.ca and blurb.com (you would have to search for Shannon Mercer or The Duck Who Lost Her Quack), and there is absolutely no markup. I am making no money from this. It’s simply for the joy of it. The cost is for Blurb to print the book. I just wanted to tell you about it, because I’m pretty excited!

theducktitle
The Duck Who Lost Her Quack

10 thoughts on “I’ve Published a Children’s Book!!

  1. Congrats again! Good for you for following through with your goals! Too often we get bogged down with “life” – being a wife, being a mommy, work, etc. it’s important to do things we love – things that help us feel fulfilled – and things that will have a positive lasting impact in this world. Kudos!

    • It is awesome, though I have to wait another week for the first order to come in. Then, when I see the books in my hands, I can tell you! I hope they look good.

      The process is actually really easy with online self-publishing sites.

      Glad we found each other here!

  2. Jealous! I wrote a children’s book about a penny a while back and have yet to publish it. Lazy? Cowardly? Hungry? All of the above actually. Perhaps you can give me some pointers and inspire me to put something out there that I’ve already written. 🙂

    Congratulations on your project. I need to go check it out soon. Thanks for sharing it for #KetchupWithUs.

    • Thanks Michele! They actually look as good as I had hoped (I’m a control freak, and so having someone else, somewhere else doing the “assembly” of the book was stressful!). It’s wonderful.

      You should start contacting publishing companies! I am looking forward to reading your book about a penny!

Leave a Reply

