Pinterest-Inspired (for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop)

Writing Prompt: Share something you tried after seeing it on Pinterest.  Did it turn out?

I have to admit something: though I REALLY, REALLY WANT to be crafty, and I can “see” fabulous things I’ve created in my own mind (when I am envisioning a time when I will actually create them), I am not that person.  I am not the one who has beautiful scrapbooks for her children (one of my friend’s does, and they are masterpieces).  I am not the one who sees something in a food magazine and can reproduce it so that IT should be in a magazine.  And it kills me that I cannot do these things as well as others.  No one likes that feeling of being inadequate.  All that said, I do go to Pinterest for ideas.

Last April I set out to make my little girl’s birthday cake for her 2nd birthday, and found several pictures of interesting ones on Pinterest.  A friend of mine, who is pretty crafty but not quite to Martha Stewart’s level, said her sister-in-law had made one of the cakes, and that it looked very good once done.  It also didn’t seem too difficult to make, she said.  So I thought I’d give it a whirl.  Crazy? I didn’t think so at the start.  But after trying to make little animals out of fondant – including using dye on them – and them not really looking fabulous like I wanted them to, I said to my husband,  “I can’t believe I thought I could do it. And now it’s too late to order one from our cake lady.”  Yes, we have a “cake lady”.  She’s the one who has made our son’s cakes for several years, and who made our daughter’s 1st birthday cake.  She truly has talent.  Anyway, after a lot of time working on those animals, and realising they wouldn’t be perfect but my daughter wouldn’t care, I did it. And, surprisingly, I was pleased with the results of the entire cake.

animals 2

I call it “Animals Frolicking in a Field”.  No it will not be in any magazines, nor will it be on anyone’s board on Pinterest.  I’m sure I won’t be getting a call from Buddy for “The Next Great Baker”.  But my kids absolutely loved it, and that means far more than it being perfect.

4 thoughts on “Pinterest-Inspired (for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop)

  1. Great post. I know what you mean about “wanting to be crafty”…I have a ton of Pins that I will probably never do. But, when I do something that even remotely turns out right, I celebrate like I just won a gold medal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

