3 Words for 2014

I follow a blogger on Twitter, who had an interesting writing prompt this week:  write 3 words to describe what your 2014 will be about.  I have been thinking long and hard about this one for several days.  I think I have the same New Year’s Resolutions as many:  I’d love to exercise more – okay, MUCH more, since I barely exercise at all – and get in better shape, especially as I approach my 40th birthday this summer; I’d love to read more – again, MUCH more, in my spare time (rather than watching TV);  and I really should get little projects around the house finished up – or even STARTED.  Eeks.  But I don’t want to write the same as everyone else.  And I can’t really improve on the obvious bad habits, because, luckily, I don’t have the “obvious” bad habits.  Don’t get me wrong, I have lots to work on, but what I mean is I don’t have “quit smoking” or “stop eating fast food” or “limit my alcohol intake” as possible resolutions.   So here goes.

BLISS – specifically the phrase “follow your bliss” applies here.  I absolutely LOVE singing.  I did it a lot as a kid – or as much as a shy(ish) little girl could, in my room, and then later in a play, and with my friends’ band, and in a string of weddings – but haven’t really sung in almost 15 years.  I would like to sing this year.  One of my dreams is to make a CD for my kids to have.  I just need to research where to go and how to get tracks laid down for me since I don’t really play instruments – well, I haven’t for decades.  I see a trend here.  Life gets busy, but I think it’s important to hold on to the hobbies one finds rewarding and satisfying.  I need to do this.

GRATITUDE – I am incredibly fortunate to have what I have.  Often I get caught up in the things that I do not have, or with the things that I want to improve but have no control over.  Instead, I really need to just be grateful for my life.  I have a wonderful family, including 2 healthy and happy children, I have so much fun here at work at the radio station, where I work with such fantastic people, I have a satisfying job as a teacher where I love working with students, my husband and I are healthy, I have terrific friends (but, unfortunately they are all over the place and so I don’t get to see them very often), we have a nice home and great neighbours…and the list goes on.  I think it’s time to start the good ole “gratitude journal” that Oprah Winfrey used to talk about years ago.

STOP – I mean this in terms of my children.  There are times when my husband and I hope for the kids to grow up a little quicker, so that they sleep longer – and don’t wake up SEVERAL times each night – and so that they are a little more independent…and so that they can play together without us worrying that our son is too rough or our daughter isn’t understanding that hitting her brother to provoke him isn’t the best decision to make.  Anyway, I need to stop wishing they would grow up faster.  Yes we are sleep deprived.  Yes we are not able to go out much – at least, without breaking the bank for a babysitter.  But, and here’s where word #2 comes in, I must be grateful for the opportunity to have these moments.  Many people are not so lucky.

Those are my 3 words for my goals for 2014.  I’m sure I will think about it some more and think of additional words…and that’s okay.  Nothing’s wrong with having goals, right?

2 thoughts on “3 Words for 2014

    • Well, I am taking voice lessons now…my 2nd lesson is on Tuesday! I also now have a connection to make a CD, so it’s going to happen. Whoo! I have also been spending lots more cuddle time with my little ones, which has been fantastic. Even when I’m tired, and even when I have lots of other things to do, I am choosing to lay beside them as they fall asleep (some nights). It’s heavenly.

Leave a Reply

